Tags

, , , , , ,

Men go forth to wonder at the heights of mountains, the huge waves of the sea, the broad flow of the rivers, the vast compass of the ocean, the courses of the stars; and they pass by themselves without wondering.  (St. Augustine)

The human body!  What a wondrous thing it is.  I am reading a book called The Wisdom of the Body by Sherwin B. Nuland and this is the quote he has placed at the beginning of this masterfully written exposé of the human being.  This book can only be read slowly as it speaks to an unprotected part of my soul causing an overwhelming sense of awe.  The mind struggles to comprehend the vast number of detailed processes that the body is involved in at any moment in time.  How is it that any system can be that efficient?  I know of no other biological system that demonstrates such incomprehensible generosity.  As I read, I am totally baffled.  The rational side of my brain does not know what to do with this information so I must drop down into a more intuitive understanding of what I am reading.

I don’t know why but I find myself weeping, overcome with gratitude for the body I call ‘home’.  I am deeply honoured by how hard it works to keep me alive, healthy, balanced and happy; sometimes against fierce opposition.   And this is only in response to what we know about the human body!

